My Books

I've written nonfiction and fiction, both historical and contemporary, adult and YA. At first glance, my books are all over the map, but if you look closely they share a common theme: they are stories about ordinary people doing extraordinary things.

 

All the Bright Places
Coming January 6, 2015

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground—it's unclear who saves whom. For fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park, this is an exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die…

read more
indiebound bn amazon
American Blonde
Book four in the Velva Jean series

In 1945, Velva Jean Hart is a bona fide war heroine. After a newsreel films her triumphant return to America, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer promises to make her a star. But when one of her best friends dies mysteriously and the most powerful studio in the world launches a cover-up, Velva Jean goes in search of the truth — risking her own life, as well as her heart, in the process…

read more
indiebound bn amazon
Becoming Clementine
Book three in the Velva Jean series

After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American WASP (Women's Airforce Service Pilot), volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. Their plane is shot down, and only she and five agents survive. Now they are on the run for their lives…

read more
bn amazon indiebound
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Book two in the Velva Jean series

It's 1941 and America has just gone to war. Velva Jean Hart discovers a brand new dream: to become a female pilot. After Pearl Harbor, she signs up for military service and gets her wings, risking her life-and her heart…

read more
bn amazon indiebound
Velva Jean Learns to Drive
Book one in the Velva Jean series

Set in Appalachia in the years before World War II, Velva Jean Learns to Drive is a poignant story of a spirited young girl growing up in the gold-mining and moonshining South…

read more
bn amazon indiebound
The Aqua Net Diaries
A Memoir

Jennifer Niven tackles her most harrowing expedition of all: high school. Her first two books, The Ice Master and Ada Blackjack, relayed the tales of deadly and dramatic Arctic adventures, but now she tells a survival tale of a different kind—her own thrilling, excruciating, and utterly unforgettable adventure in a midwestern high school during the 1980s…

read more
bn amazon indiebound
Ada Blackjack
A true story of survival in the Arctic

An unskilled young woman with no knowledge of the world outside her small Alaskan town. Divorced, impoverished, and despondent, she has one focus in her life-- to care for her dying son. In search of money, she signs on as seamstress for a top-secret expedition into the unknown Arctic and is the only one who returns…

read more
bn amazon indiebound
The Ice Master
The doomed 1913 voyage of the Karluk

Abandoned by their leader, trapped in the ice, a ship full of strangers drifts for months until the ice rips a hole in the vessel. With nothing but a few supplies and the polar ice beneath their feet, twenty-two men, one woman and her two small daughters, twenty-nine dogs, and one pet cat are now shipwrecked in the middle of the Arctic Ocean, hundreds of miles from land…

read more
bn amazon indiebound