All the Bright Places
A New York Times / International Bestseller
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!


An exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might die, but every day he also searches for—and manages to find—something to keep him here, and alive, and awake.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground—it's unclear who saves whom. And when the unlikely pair teams up on a class project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, they go, as Finch says, where the road takes them: the grand, the small, the bizarre, the beautiful, the ugly, the surprising—just like life.

Soon it's only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a bold, funny, live-out-loud guy, who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet forgets to count away the days and starts living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.

This is a heart-wrenching, unflinching story of love shared, life lived, and two teens who find one another while standing on the edge.

Awards
Praise

Two struggling teens develop an unlikely relationship in a moving exploration of grief, suicide and young love. Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably. — Kirkus (starred review)

The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid. Finch in particular will linger in readers' minds long after the last page is turned. Give this to fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park, John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, or Jennifer Hubbard's The Secret Year. — School Library Journal (starred review)

Seniors Theodore Finch and Violet Markey run into each other on their school bell tower, contemplating what it would be like to jump. In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny that it seems like it could save Finch. The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities — and limits — of love in the face of mental illness. — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Touching, beautiful, heartbreaking, and haunting, Finch and Violet will follow you around long after you have turned the last page of the book that brings them beautifully to life. — Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Niven's first novel for teens tackles a big topic with sensitivity, and teens will likely swoon over Finch and Violet's doomed oddball romance. With an author tour, a major promotional campaign, and a film adaptation already in the works, publishers are banking on Niven's YA debut to be a hit. — Booklist

At the heart — a big one — of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers. — The New York Times Book Review

All the Bright Places draws you in and makes you cry with the compelling story of two teens, Violet and Finch. The story of Violet and Finch's quest to find 'All the Bright Places' is one that anyone can relate to. — New York Daily News

Niven's sparkling YA debut... this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters or her audience. — Entertainment Weekly

You know the kind of book that turns you into an evangelist? You clutch it to your heart as you run around telling anyone who will listen that they simply MUST read it? That's this book. A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and TFiOS, and basically anyone who can breathe. — Justine Magazine

This is a story about life and death, hope and grief, brightness and darkness. But mostly, it's a love story, and I fell for Violet and Finch even before they fell for each other. Their journey, which starts at the top of a bell tower, is lovely and clever and brave. It will break your heart and remind you what it means to be alive. — Jennifer E. Smith, NY Times bestselling author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

I love every wise, tough, true, funny, heartbreaking word. — Newbery Medalist Karen Cushman

This book is something special. It's a love story, to be sure, but it is so much more than that. It is a story of grief, family and mental illness. Equal parts tragic and comical, this novel warrants reading. — Romantic Times Top Pick

I'm calling it now: this book is going to make a lot of people cry (me included). — Kerry Winfrey for Hello Giggles, "The YA Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2015"

All the Bright Places shines, standing out from the rest. — Bustle

This book will be your next The Fault in Our Stars. A complex love story that will bring all the feels. Curl up with a bundle of tissues because this novel is going to have you ugly crying all over again. — Seventeen Magazine

Niven has created a lovely and devastating romance while also providing a realistic portrait of mental illness. Dually narrating, Finch and Violet are perfectly voiced. Highly recommend this title, especially to teens who want to feel all the feels. — VOYA

A searingly honest and heartbreakingly poignant tale about the power and beauty of love. — 5*, Heat Magazine

It's beautiful, heart-breaking and as exhilarating as it is sad. Expect huge thingss. — The Bookseller

Stunning and heart-breaking.— Emily Drabble, Guardian Children's Books

I LOVED THIS BOOK. It's incredible, really beautifully written. — Lindsay Foley, Sugarscape

Will pull you in and won't let you go again, even long after you turned the final page — a must-read. — Booktrust

It's little surprise that All the Bright Places has already been deeply and widely lauded by young readers. Read it, and soon. — The Globe and Mail

All the Bright Places is a brave and beautiful love story. Violet and Finch hurt my heart, but I'm very glad I met them. — Jenny Downham, author of Before I Die


(praise from readers)
Press
Resources
Extras
Watch

Watch the book trailer created by Penguin Random House New Zealand!

Listen